The UK government has a strong reputation for its world class Civil Service and its consistent ability to deliver a high standard of public services across the country. To maintain this standing it constantly strives to improve systems, drive efficiency and think innovatively. The Civil Service Awards celebrate the very best of the Civil Service, enabling the sharing of best practice right across government departments.

Who is organising the Civil Service Awards?

The awards are run in open partnership with Dods Events, who have delivered the awards since their inception in 2006.

How do I enter and what will the nomination form look like?

For all categories you will be asked to submit the below for your nomination: 

  • An overview of the nomination (100 words) 
  • An outline of the measurable benefits achieved by the team or individual, and the impact this has had beyond the immediate team, business area or department, using the STAR (Situation, Task, Action, Result) method (100 words per STAR letter, 400 words in total)

Who can enter the Civil Service Awards?

Any person who is currently employed within the Civil Service can nominate in the awards. You can enter yourself or be nominated by a colleague. A Senior Civil Servant's (SCS and above) details will need to be entered to validate the nomination, however, they do not need to be contacted prior to nominating. They will only be contacted if the nomination is shortlisted and a Category Champion is required to check something for due diligence purposes. If your organisation does not have a Senior Civil Servant available to do this, the most senior line manager will be required.

When will the shortlist be announced?

The shortlist will be announced in October 2024. This will be published on the awards website, through internal Civil Service communications channels, and on UK Civil Service social media.

What happens with my nomination?

All entries will be passed onto our Category Champions and their expert sifting panel who will review each nomination for their category and select the top submissions. The top submissions in each category will be passed onto our final judging panel who will select the top three and the overall winner in each category. The winners are announced during the awards ceremony.

When do nominations close?

Nominations have been extended by a week and will now close at 5pm on Friday 26 July, 2024.

Do I have to tell the person I am nominating them?

We advise that you inform anyone you are nominating that you have done so, at your own discretion. It is not compulsory, but it is usually best to let them know in advance so they are not caught off-guard if they are shortlisted. It’s also an opportunity to let them know what fantastic work they have done! Information will be processed according to our privacy notice.

How are the awards funded?

The Civil Service Awards is cost neutral to the Civil Service as all costs are covered by delivery partner Dods Events, which funds the event through advertising and sponsorship. Profits raised beyond the amount needed to cover costs are shared between Dods and the Cabinet Office

Why have some categories been changed?

Every year, the awards categories are reviewed, refreshed and modernised to reflect the priorities of the Civil Service.

How many categories are there?

This year there are 12 award categories which reflect the key themes across government.

Who should I contact if I have any questions about the Awards process?

Should you need any further information please contact the team by email the team on: civilserviceawards@dods-events.com or call 0207 593 5669.