The UK government has a strong reputation for its world class Civil Service and its consistent ability to deliver a high standard of public services across the country. To maintain this standing it constantly strives to improve systems, drive efficiency and think innovatively. The Civil Service Awards celebrate the very best of the Civil Service, enabling the sharing of best practice right across government departments.

Who is organising the Civil Service Awards?

The awards are run in open partnership with Dods Group PLC, who have delivered the awards since their inception in 2006.

How do I enter and what will the nomination form look like?

No matter what category you are entering a colleague or project in, you will be asked to submit the below for your nomination:

  • An overview of the nomination (100 words)
  • To outline the measurable benefits achieved by the team or individual, and the impact this has had beyond the immediate team, business area or department, using the STAR (situation, task, action, result) method (100 words each STAR letter, 400 words in total)

For all categories except The Communication Award, you will be required to submit a testimonial that shows external support for your nomination (100 words).

For those entering The Communication Award, you will be required to submit a 4 minute video that outlines and visualises the impact of the campaign being nominated. Full instructions on how to structure and submit your entry can be found here [1].

If you have any questions or require support uploading your video, please do not hesitate to get in touch at: civilservicecomms@cabinetoffice.gov.uk [2]

Who can enter the Civil Service Awards? [2]

Any person who is currently employed within the Civil Service can nominate in the awards. You can enter yourself or be nominated by a colleague. A Senior Civil Servants (SCS and above) details will need to be entered to validate the nomination, however, they do not need to be contacted prior to nominating. They will only be contacted if the nomination is shortlisted and a Catgeory Champion is required to check something for due diligence purposes. If your organisation does not have a Senior Civil Servant available to do this, the most senior line manager will be required.

When will the shortlist be announced? [2]

The shortlist will be announced on the 13th January 2021. This will be published on the awards website, through internal Civil Service comms channels and in an extended editorial edition of Civil Service World [3], our awards media partner. 

What happens with my nomination?

All entries will be passed onto our Category Champions and their expert sifting panel who will review each nomination in their specific category and select the top submissions.

The top submissions in each category will then be passed onto our final moderating panel who will select the top 3 shortlist and the overall winner in each catgeory.

The winners are announced during the awards ceremony.

Do I have to tell the person I am nominating them?

We advise that you let anyone you are nominating know that you have done so at your own discretion. It is not compulsory, but it is usually best to inform them in advance so they are not caught off-guard if they are shortlisted. It’s also an opportunity to let them know what fantastic work they have done!

How are the awards funded?

The Awards are cost neutral to the Civil Service as all costs are covered by our delivery partner Dods Group PLC, who fund the event through advertising and sponsorship from outside the Civil Service.

Why have some categories been changed?

The awards categories are reviewed every year and are refreshed and modernised to reflect the priorities of the Civil Service.

How many categories are there?

This year there are 16 award categories which reflect the key themes across government.

The Diversity & Inclusion Award category is not open for entries through the main Civil Service Awards. This is, as always, a ‘winner of winners’ chosen from the separate Diversity & Inclusion Awards programme [4].

Who should I contact if I have any questions about the Awards process?

Should you need any further information please contact the team by email [5] or call 0207 593 5655